Imposter syndrome and how to deal with it.

imposter syndrome" is simply doubting your abilities and feeling like a fraud.

Carbell

written by Carbell Sarfo

Oct 3, 2022

imposter syndrome

Will I fit in? Will my colleagues like me? Can I do a good work? How am I the person to be doing this? Why am I the person to be doing this? Why are people taking me seriously? These are some thought patterns that can help you know that might somehow be facing or dealing with imposter syndrome.

What is imposter syndrome?

"Imposter syndrome" is simply doubting your abilities and feeling like a fraud.

It is an internal feeling that you are not as competent as people perceive you and that maybe you are a fraud or probably just got lucky. Despite being referred to as a "syndrome", it is not a diagnosable mental illness at all, but rather something to describe owning accomplishments, achievements and intelligence.

Merriam-Webster defines imposter syndrome, in part, as "persistent doubt concerning one's abilities or accomplishments accompanied by the fear of being exposed as a fraud despite evidence of one's ongoing success."

Originally, imposter syndrome was perceived to affect high achieving ladies, then more study showed that minorities and people of color also experience it; even more studies have shown that imposter syndrome can affect anyone irrespective of the social status, work background, skill level, or degree of expertise.

Characteristics of Imposter Syndrome

If you seem to show signs of a few of the characteristics below, chances are you might have dealt with imposter syndrome or probably dealing with it.

My Experiences with Imposter Syndrome

It took me a while to be able to identify what I was feeling was. I landed on a video on YouTube that was explaining exactly what I do feel from time to time; imposter syndrome. That got me to do some more research to try to understand that phenomena. I will share one of my experiences and how I was able to get over it.

It was the 14th congregation graduation ceremony in UPSA. There was 4 different congregation for the various departments of which mine was the last (point to note, I was graduating as well).

The initial plan was I wasn't going to have a photoshoot stand or work but on second thought, I needed some extra cash to cater for my preparation towards the graduation, so yes, I will shoot. I spoke to my partner in crime, rented a camera and we reached out to some graduands and also some people reached out to me as well and were in business. I was working for the last two congregation.

I was on campus for the third congregation with my colleague and was ready to get to it. Unluckily, it rained that day; but we were not going to be stopped. When we got to campus, I couldn't help but look at the equipments other photographers came with; Massive speedlights, softboxes, bigger cameras. Some had studio set ups in mounted tents.

The first question I asked myself was whether I was really up for this. Why would anyone decide to work with me and not these other photographers. Surely these guys are professionals and me, me ... . My confidence went down. But I had my friends keep telling me that gear does matter but the outcome will be very similar if not better that most people will not ask what you shot with. Albert from Just Know it tells me "Sarfo, I have seen your work and that of some of these professionals and I know how good your work is if not even better". Then I started to wonder why some people reached out to me despite knowing clearly that many of these professionals will be there. Those words from my friends was all the confidence boost I needed to go and do me.

For most people, the imposter syndrome is a normal part of developing a professional identity. But at the more extreme end of the imposterism spectrum, the experience can have more tangible effect on mental health, job performance and career decisions

It is particularly common to feel like an imposter early on in a professional adventure; especially when you are self-taught. "This is something that does get better overtime." Says Hulmuth.

Imposter syndrome is very situational and can crop up when starting something new like a new job or position. The imposter syndrome never really goes away and usually pops when you are doing something new and YES you have to deal with it again", says Hulmuth.

How do I get over Imposter Syndrome?

Social Support is key.

Having some good colleagues who share similar goals or are in a similar community can go a long way to help. Having a community where you all discuss about experiences, support one another, celebrate successes and commiserate about disappointments will help so much in helping you get pass the wall of imposterism and to owning your accomplishments and accolades.

Talk about it

Truth is we may never be able to barnish the feeling of imposterism entirely but we can have open conversations about our challenges.

The more you find that you are not alone, perharps you will feel a little more confident in some simple truths. You have talent, you are capable and you belong.

← Back