How I got started with Graphic Design

It was almost an accident that I landed and got started with photoshop but I didn't know it was a strategy then but I kept trying to do one particular thing that led to me doing another thing to another thing; fast forward I am called a graphic designer.

Carbell

written by Carbell Sarfo

Nov 13, 2022

getting started with photoshop

Sometime ago, I opened YouTube and typed in the search box; "how to create a YouTube thumbnail.

Many videos popped up and I watched a few and in a few, I mean many. One thing I realized was that many of the creators were using different software applications but the commonest of all was Photoshop.

I did my research and photoshop was among the top 3 everywhere I looked. So I downloaded and installed photoshop on my pc.

I launched photoshop ready to make some killer content and the interface was staring right back at me. I was overwhelmed and didn't know what to do, where to click, or what each of the things I was seeing did.

And that could be the biggest set-back to using photoshop. It doesn't have a welcoming interface.

And Then It Happened.

I kept watching tutorials and I kept trying stuff and after some weeks, I was creating stuff only there weren't good as in good.

How I Got Better Fast

I must say mainly because I kept watching more videos and kept using and making things on photoshop But; It was the way I told myself certain things. Back then I didn't know but now it makes much sense to me but now I can connect the dots.

Instead of saying "I want to learn Photoshop?", I said "I want to learn how to make a thumbnail in Photoshop. And I did exactly that. Next time, I said "how do I remove the background of the photo and I went to YouTube, watched a video and did that. It kept going on and on and on and months passed and I kept using photoshop more and more and the 'not so welcoming interface' was actually providing solutions.

I went from making thumbnails to websites to ugly flyer designs to somehow amazing flyers, to editing and manipulating photos to retouching photo to a lot more.

And that is was I will be adding to YouTube and hopefully you could pick a thing or two.

As Usual, please feel free to check out my Youtube channel and Without much I do guys, I will catch you in the next one. Peace.

← Back